ru en
 
Home page / WTO /

Belarus and WTO

The Republic of Belarus has an observer status in the World Trade Organization since 1993.

Belarus holds its negotiations on joining the Word Trade Organization in four major areas: bringing its national legislation in line with the WTO multilateral treaties, access to goods market, access to services market, state support of agriculture.

Consideration of issues related to compliance of the national legislation with the WTO rules is carried out in multilateral meetings of the Working Party on Belarus Accession to the WTO (the Working Party). According to the results of the Working Party meetings, the WTO Members may decide to move to the next stage of negotiations on the basis of results achieved in the process of bringing of the national legislation in line with the WTO rules. The accession process requires some procedures to proceed: Memorandum — Checklist – Factual Summary — Draft Report of the Working Party.

The Working Party on the Accession of Belarus to the WTO comprises 38 countries. So far, 7 formal meetings of the Working Party were held (on 5 June 1997, on 28 April 1998, on 5 March 2001, on 24 January 2003, on 30 January 2004, on 30 September 2004, on 24 May 2005). As a result, the Belarusian Side managed to pass the following stages of the negotiation process. In 1996 Belarus circulated a Memorandum on Foreign Trade Regime. As a result of the 4th session of the Working Party, Belarus had prepared the Checklist. At the 5th meeting of the Working Party the WTO Members approved the initiation of the Factual Summary elaboration. The main outcome of the 6th meeting of the Working Party was the decision on elaboration of the second edition of the Factual Summary. The review of this document commenced on the 7th meeting of the Working Party and was continued at the informal meetings.

Since 2005 the Working Party meetings were held in an informal format: 4 rounds of consultations in June 2006, in July 2007, in October 2007, and in June 2009. Since the last formal meeting of the Working Party, the Republic of Belarus has continued work on further harmonization of its foreign trade legislation and enforcement practice in accordance with the WTO rules and principles. In 2005-2012, Belarus submitted more than 15 information documents, related to the process of bringing of the national legislation into line with the WTO requirements (including information on changes in foreign trade regime, the information on customs administration, import licensing, state support of agriculture, protection of trade-related intellectual property rights, revised edition of the Factual Summary etc.

In June 2009, Belarus together with Kazakhstan and Russia decided to accede to the WTO jointly, i.e. as a Customs Union. Following this decision, three countries set up a Common Delegation to negotiate with the WTO on behalf of three countries. Since June 2009, a Common Delegation participated in series of consultations with the WTO Members, the WTO Secretariat where experts discussed approaches on joining the WTO.

In 2010 Belarus continued consultations with its major trading partners on accession to the WTO.

In August — September 2010 Belarus submitted to the WTO:

  1. an information document on changes in the economic legislation of the Republic of Belarus;
  2. texts of legal acts of the Republic of Belarus in English.

In June 2011 Belarus has circulated a revised Legislative Action Plan among the WTO Members.

On 4 April 2012 a meeting of the Intergovernmental Commission on the Accession of Belarus to the WTO was held. During the session participants discussed issues related to the intergovernmental cooperation on WTO matters, consequences for Belarus of Russia’s accession to the WTO, preparation of documents within the bilateral and multilateral tracks of negotiations.

The new edition of the Factual Summary was circulated by the WTO Secretariat among the members of the Working party in November 2012. Later, in December 2012 the WTO General Council approved a new Chairman of the Working Party on accession of Belarus – Mr. Selim Kuneralp, the Ambassador of Turkey to the WTO.

So far, Belarus held 29 bilateral negotiations with countries of the Working Party that ended up in sealing the outcome protocols with 10 WTO Member countries: Armenia, Bulgaria, China, Cuba, Dominican Republic, India, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Panama, and Turkey. Besides, Belarus and China signed a Memorandum of Understanding which envisages mutual recognition of a market economy status. Belarus came closer with other countries on its future commitments in ensuring access to goods and services markets. Belarus also managed to narrow the list of demands by a number of the WTO Member countries that were unacceptable for Belarus.

Negotiations on state support to agriculture are held in the format of special multilateral meetings, at which parties should commit the maximum level of state support to agricultural sector provided in Belarus. Currently, the contracting parties decide on volume of state support.

Bilateral market access negotiations are ongoing. The Secretariat has prepared an updated Factual Summary on the basis of inputs submitted by Belarus, which was circulated in November 2012. Further, on the Members request, the Secretariat also circulated background country economic reports on Belarus by the International Monetary Fund and the World Bank. In March 2013, a set of follow-up questions by Members, and replies by Minsk, were circulated by the Secretariat.

ru en
 
Главная / ВТО /

Беларусь и ВТО

Республика Беларусь имеет статус наблюдателя во Всемирной торговой организации с 1993 года.

Беларусь проводит переговоры по присоединению к ВТО по четырем основным направлениям: приведение национального законодательства в соответствие с многосторонними соглашениями ВТО, доступ к рынку товаров, доступ к рынку услуг, государственная поддержка сельского хозяйства.

Рассмотрение вопросов, связанных с соответствием национального законодательства правилам ВТО, осуществляет Рабочая группа по присоединению Беларуси к ВТО (Рабочая группа) на своих многосторонних заседаниях. По результатам заседаний Рабочей группы члены ВТО могут принять решение перейти к следующему этапу переговоров на основе результатов, достигнутых в процессе приведения национального законодательства в соответствие с правилами ВТО. Процесс вступления требует проведения нескольких процедур: Меморандум - Контрольный лист - Сводный отчет - Проект отчета Рабочей группы.

Рабочая группа по присоединению Беларуси к ВТО состоит из 38 стран. До недавнего времени были проведены 7 официальных заседаний Рабочей группы (5 июня 1997 г., 28 апреля 1998 г., 5 марта 2001 г., 24 января 2003 г., 30 января 2004 г., 30 сентября 2004 г., 24 мая 2005 г). В результате белорусской стороне удалось пройти следующие этапы переговорного процесса. В 1996 г. Беларусь распространила Меморандум о режиме внешней торговли. В результате 4-го заседания Рабочей группы Беларусь подготовила Контрольный лист. На 5-м заседании Рабочей группы страны-члены ВТО одобрили начало разработки Сводного отчета. Главным итогом 6-го заседания Рабочей группы стало принятие решения о разработке второй редакции Сводного отчета. Обзор этого документа начался на 7-м заседании Рабочей группы и был продолжен в ходе неофициальных встреч.

После 2005 года были проведены неформальные встречи Рабочей группы: 4 раунда переговоров в июне 2006, июле 2007, октябре 2007 и в июне 2009 годов. Со времени последнего официального заседания Рабочей группы Республика Беларусь продолжает работу по дальнейшей гармонизации своего внешнеторгового законодательства и правоприменительной практики в соответствии с правилами и принципами ВТО. В 2005-2012 гг. Беларусь представила более 15 информационных документов, связанных с процессом приведения национального законодательства в соответствие с требованиями ВТО (в том числе информацию об изменениях в режиме внешней торговли, о таможенном администрировании, лицензировании импорта, государственной поддержке сельского хозяйства, по торговым аспектам прав на интеллектуальную собственность, пересмотре Сводного отчета и т.д.).

В июне 2009 г. Беларусь совместно с Казахстаном и Россией решили присоединиться к ВТО вместе, как Таможенный союз. После принятия данного решения три страны создали общую делегацию для проведения переговоров с ВТО от имени трех стран. С июня 2009 г. общая делегация приняла участие в серии переговоров с членами ВТО, секретариатом, где эксперты обсуждали подходы к присоединению к ВТО.

В 2010 г. Беларусь продолжила переговоры по вступлению в ВТО со своими основными торговыми партнерами.

В августе - сентябре 2010 г. Беларусь представила в ВТО:

  1. Информационный документ об изменениях в законодательстве в сфере экономики Республики Беларусь;
  2. Тексты правовых актов Республики Беларусь на английском языке.

В июне 2011 г. Беларусь распространила среди членов ВТО план действий по пересмотру своего законодательства.

4 апреля 2012 г. состоялось заседание Межправительственной комиссии, посвященное присоединению Республики Беларусь к ВТО. На заседании обсуждались вопросы межправительственного сотрудничества, связанные с присоединением к ВТО, последствия вступления России в ВТО для Беларуси, подготовки документов в рамках процедур двусторонних и многосторонних переговоров.

Новая редакция Сводного отчета была разослана Секретариатом ВТО членам Рабочей группы в ноябре 2012 г. Позже, в декабре 2012 г., Генеральный совет ВТО утвердил нового председателя Рабочей группы по присоединению Беларуси - г-на Селима Кунералпа, посла Турции в ВТО.

До настоящего времени Беларусь провела 29 двусторонних переговоров со странами-членами Рабочей группы, которые привели к подписанию итоговых протоколов с 10 членами ВТО: Арменией, Болгарией, Китаем, Кубой, Доминиканской Республикой, Индией, Кыргызстаном, Молдовой, Панамой и Турцией. Кроме того, Беларусь и Китай подписали меморандум о взаимопонимании, который предусматривает взаимное признание статуса рыночной экономики. Беларусь приблизилась к своим будущим обязательствам с другими странами по обеспечению доступа на рынки товаров и услуг. Беларуси также удалось сократить перечень требований ряда стран-членов ВТО, которые были неприемлемы для белорусской стороны.

Переговоры по государственной поддержке сельского хозяйства проводятся в формате специальных многосторонних встреч, на которых стороны стараются договориться об уровне государственной поддержки аграрного сектора в Беларуси. В настоящее время, договаривающиеся стороны решают вопрос по объему государственной поддержки.

Двусторонние переговоры по доступу на рынки продолжаются. Секретариат ВТО подготовил обновленный Сводный отчет на основе материалов, представленных Беларусью, который был распространен в ноябре 2012 г. Позднее, по просьбе стран-членов Рабочей группы, Секретариат также распространил отчеты по вопросам экономики Беларуси, составленные Международным валютным фондом и Всемирным банком. В марте 2013 г. Секретариатом были распространены ряд последующих вопросов, заданных членами Рабочей группы, и ответы Минска.